AIKCU members embrace Kentucky Dual Credit Scholarship Program

Twelve AIKCU members have signed on to participate in the new Kentucky Dual Credit Scholarship Program established by Governor Matt Bevin’s June executive order and administered by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority.

The 12 AIKCU members participating in the Dual Credit Scholarship Program are: Bellarmine University, Brescia University, Campbellsville University, Kentucky Christian University, Kentucky Wesleyan College, Lindsey Wilson College, Midway University, Spalding University, Thomas More College, Union College, University of the Cumberlands, and the University of Pikeville.

In its initial year, the Dual Credit Scholarship Program will allow every Kentucky public high school senior to take two dual credit courses at no cost to the student. The dual credit, where students receive both high school and college credit, may be earned in general education or career and technical education courses.

To enroll students using the Dual Credit Scholarship, participating postsecondary institutions must agree to charge no more than 1/3 of community college tuition, or $52 per credit hour. Several other AIKCU members will continue to offer dual credit opportunities for high school students outside of the Dual Credit Scholarship Program.