Berea inaugurates 9th president

Berea President Dr. Lyle Roelofs at inaugurationOn Saturday, April 9th, the Berea College community celebrated the inauguration of the school’s 9th president, Dr. Lyle Roelofs.

Roelofs assumed the presidency on July 1, 2012, after the retirement of Dr. Larry Shinn, who served as Berea’s president for 18 years.

Notable Bereans — including Silas House, best-selling novelist and NEH Chair in Appalachia Studies; Dr. bell hooks, world-renowned feminist and distinguished professor in residence in Appalachian Studies; and former President Shinn — charged Roelofs to live up to Berea’s Great Commitments during the inauguration ceremony.

We at AIKCU congratulate President Roelofs on a successful inauguration and wish him a long and successful career at Berea.

See the full inauguration coverage on, including a detailed story, photo gallery, and videos.